Mythopoeic Awards

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the previous three years are eligible, including finalists for previous years.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

 

For more information and a complete list of winners check out the Mythopoeic Society.

Redemption in Indigo Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781931520669
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Small Beer Press - August 1st, 2010

2011 Adult Winner


The Thief Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780060824976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Eos - December 27th, 2005

2011 Children's Winner


Where the Mountain Meets the Moon Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316038638
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 12th, 2011

2010 Children's Winner


Flesh and Spirit Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780451461568
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roc - January 2nd, 2008

2009 Adult Winner


Graceling Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780547258300
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphia Books - September 7th, 2009

2009 Children's Winner


In the Night Garden Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780553384031
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Spectra Books - October 31st, 2006

2008 Adult Winner - Orpahn's Tales as a series, including the second book In the Cities of Coin and Spice


Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780590353427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - September 7th, 1999

2008 Children's Winner - For the whole series


 

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over forty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.