Extra Yarn (Hardcover)

Extra Yarn Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Winter 2012 Kids' Next List


“The town where Annabelle lives is a very boring place; a dull grey city where nobody wears anything colorful at all. One day Annabelle finds a box full of yarn, so she knits herself a sweater. But she finds that she has extra yarn left over. Soon, she is knitting sweaters for everyone and everything (even a pickup truck!) and her town is becoming brighter by the stitch. Somehow, she always has extra yarn!”
— Maryam Yachnes, Hooray for Books!, Alexandria, VA

Description


From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.

About the Author


Mac Barnett is a New York Times bestselling author whose books have been translated into more than thirty languages. His picture books include two Caldecott Honor–winning collaborations with Jon Klassen: Sam & Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn. Among his other popular books are I Love You Like a Pig, illustrated by Greg Pizzoli, and The Magic Word, illustrated by Elise Parsley. He lives in Oakland, California. You can visit him online at www.macbarnett.com.



JON KLASSEN grew up in Niagara Falls and now lives in Los Angeles. He is the Caldecott Medal–winning author and illustrator of I Want My Hat Back, This Is Not My Hat and We Found a Hat, as well as the illustrator of Sam and Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett, The Dark by Lemony Snicket, Pax by Sara Pennypacker and The Nest by Kenneth Oppel.

 

 

Praise For…


“There’s nothing to say but—perfect.”
— Lane Smith, New York Times bestselling author of It's a Book

“Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Klassen’s deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett’s quirky droll writing.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Klassen’s pacing, especially the mostly wordless sequence when the box floats back to Annabelle on a triangle of an iceberg, is impeccable. The final spread, all light and yarn-covered tree limbs, brings Barnett’s clever, quiet yarn full circle, to a little girl and a town, now colorful and happy.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

“Reading like a droll fairy tale, this Barnett-Klassen collaboration is both seamless and magical. The spare, elegant text and art are also infused with plenty of deadpan humor. Quirky and wonderful, this story quietly celebrates a child’s ingenuity and her ability to change the world around her.”
Booklist (starred review)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780061953385
ISBN-10: 0061953385
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: January 17th, 2012
Pages: 40
Language: English

215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

 

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.