Amari and the Great Game (Supernatural Investigations #2) (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Amari and the Great Game (Supernatural Investigations #2) Cover Image
$17.99
Unavailable
Not Yet Published

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Supernatural Investigations series.

Description


Sequel to the New York Times bestseller Amari and the Night Brothers!

Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this magical second book in the New York Times and Indie bestselling Supernatural Investigations trilogy—perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor.

After finding her brother and saving the entire supernatural world, Amari Peters is convinced her first full summer as a Junior Agent will be a breeze.

But between the fearsome new Head Minister’s strict anti-magician agenda, fierce Junior Agent rivalries, and her brother Quinton’s curse steadily worsening, Amari’s plate is full. So when the secretive League of Magicians offers her a chance to stand up for magiciankind as its new leader, she declines. She’s got enough to worry about!

But her refusal allows someone else to step forward, a magician with dangerous plans for the League. This challenge sparks the start of the Great Game, a competition to decide who will become the Night Brothers’ successor and determine the future of magiciankind.

The Great Game is both mysterious and deadly, but among the winner’s magical rewards is Quinton’s last hope—so how can Amari refuse?

About the Author


B. B. Alston lives in Lexington, South Carolina. His debut novel, Amari and the Night Brothers, is a #1 Kids’ Indie Next pick and the winner of Barnes & Noble’s inaugural Children’s and YA Book Award as well as a New York Times and indie bestseller. When not writing, he can be found eating too many sweets and exploring country roads to see where they lead. Visit him online at www.bbalston.com.

Praise For…


Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “This series debut is sure to be a hit with late elementary students and middle graders who are fans of “Harry Potter,” “Percy Jackson,” and the Men in Black movies….An excellent middle grade fantasy that will attract an immediate fan base and leave kids eager for more.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “The author weaves magical whimsy with honest, realistically portrayed circumstances, allowing Amari’s literal #BlackGirlMagic to shine even when she doesn’t believe in herself. This timely, energetic, first-person narrative moves quickly with clear descriptions, a thrilling buildup, and strong messages about profiling. An impressive debut series opener.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “In this thrilling debut, Alston thrusts his intrepid heroine into a setting packed with magic, mythical creatures, and danger. Amari, a Black girl with limited means, confronts privilege and prejudice even while delving into a world of wonder, humor, and adventure, making this a sure-to-please winner.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “Fast-paced adventure and cutthroat pre-adolescent contempt make for a delightfully challenging journey here, particularly considering the ways that Alston frames Amari’s racial and economic experiences as a Black girl as the root of her strong-willed nature and spirit of integrity. It’s a good thing this book is the first of a series, because readers will be sorely disappointed when it ends.”
— ALA Booklist (starred review)

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “A breath of fresh air in the normal-kid-finds-out-they’re-magic genre, with Amari’s snappy, no-nonsense narration, a mix of new, bizarre supernatural creatures and classic vampires and witches, and rich world building that reads as both familiar and fantastic…. Readers will no doubt cross their fingers for more of Amari’s adventures.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for AMARI AND THE NIGHT BROTHERS: “The story introduces a world of enchantment, danger, excitement, and humor. While many parallels can be drawn between the protagonist and a certain boy wizard, readers will root for Amari’s own unique determination and wit.”
— Horn Book Magazine

“An enchanting fantasy adventure filled with heart and soul. Amari is magical!”
— Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE HATE U GIVE

“As a former black girl misfit who wanted nothing more in the world than to be magical, this book is a song to my soul. Amari is the heroine we all need.”
— Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of DEAR MARTIN

“Sharp, funny and brightly imaginative -- a big adventure filled with magic and heart.”
— Jessica Townsend, New York Times bestselling author of the Nevermoor series

"Clever, imaginative, and filled with heart. I loved every magical page."
— J.C. Cervantes, New York Times bestselling author of THE STORM RUNNER

Amari and the Night Brothers gives an electrifying jolt to middle-grade fantasy, that takes the ingredients we know and love--strong-willed, relatable protagonist, a worthy quest, and a thrilling magical portal--and makes them fresh and new. From the first pages, Amari is at once self-possessed and an underdog, battling racism, bias and poverty, all later mirrored in her efforts to find her brother inside the fantastical labyrinth of the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs. Funny, fast-paced, and ultimately moving, B.B. Alston's debut is a rousing success and kicks off a series that will truly stand out from the rest!”
— Soman Chainani, author of the bestselling The School for Good and Evil series

"The surprises and story never slow down for a minute in this magical, astonishing world, with a heroine who’s like Buffy meets Meg Murry multiplied by Shuri to the power of awesome. I want to live in Amari’s world and watch her save it (or have her come here and save ours!)!"
— Tui Sutherland, bestselling author of the Wings of Fire series


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062975195
ISBN-10: 0062975196
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: August 30th, 2022
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Supernatural Investigations

215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

 

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.