The Elephant Girl (Hardcover)

The Elephant Girl By James Patterson, Ellen Banda-Aaku, Sophia Krevoy (With) Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Mar 29 5:18am
(INTERMEDIATE JUV SUB-CAT)

July/August 2022 Kids Indie Next List


“Jama shares her heart with Mbegu, caring for her safety and well-being. She finds solace in her elephant friends when humans let her down, and the relationship that blossoms is one with mutual respect and thoughtfulness at the center.”
— Honor Ford, The Doylestown & Lahaska Bookshops, Doylestown, PA

Description


AN INDIE NEXT PICK AND AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH!
 
#1 bestselling author James Patterson and award-winning author Ellen Banda-Aaku deliver an unforgettable story of a girl, an elephant, and their life-changing friendship—perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, Pax, and Because of Winn-Dixie.
 
Clever, sensitive Jama likes elephants better than people. While her classmates gossip—especially about the new boy, Leku—twelve-year-old Jama takes refuge at the watering hole outside her village. There she befriends a baby elephant she names Mbegu, Swahili for seed. 
 
When Mbegu’s mother, frightened by poachers, stampedes, Jama and Mbegu are blamed for two deaths—one elephant and one human. Now Leku, whose mysterious and imposing father is head ranger at the conservancy, may be their only lifeline.    
 
Inspired by true events, The Elephant Girl is a moving exploration of the bonds between creatures and the power of belonging. 
 
“Emotionally thrilling and richly satisfying.” – Kirkus Reviews
“This powerful novel …is thoroughly grounded in Jama’s bravery, moral strength, and genuine love for the animals that share her home.” – Publishers Weekly

About the Author


James Patterson is the world's bestselling author. The creator of Max Einstein and Middle School, he founded JIMMY Patterson to publish books that young readers will love. He lives in Florida with his family.

Ellen Banda-Aaku is an award-winning author and producer. She has lived, studied, and worked in Ghana, South Africa, and Zambia, and currently lives in the UK with her two children.

Praise For…


"Emotionally thrilling and richly satisfying." —Kirkus

"Patterson and Banda-Aaku’s well-developed, vividly set story is thoroughly grounded in Jama’s bravery, moral strength, and genuine love for the animals that share her home."—Publishers Weekly

“Inspired by real events, this story vividly depicts Kenya as it explores the relationship between humans and animals. Readers will be inspired by Jama’s courage and root for her and Mbegu’s future.”—School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316316927
ISBN-10: 031631692X
Publisher: jimmy patterson
Publication Date: July 25th, 2022
Pages: 272
Language: English

215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.