Amira & Hamza: The War to Save the Worlds (Hardcover)

Amira & Hamza: The War to Save the Worlds By Samira Ahmed Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Kirkus Best Middle Grade Book of 2021

From bestselling author Samira Ahmed comes a thrilling and magical adventure intertwining Islamic legend and history, perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the Land of Stories.

 
On the day of a rare super blue blood moon eclipse, twelve-year-old Amira and her little brother, Hamza, can’t stop their bickering while attending a special exhibit on medieval Islamic astronomy. While stargazer Amira is wowed by the amazing gadgets, a bored Hamza wanders off, stumbling across the mesmerizing and forbidden Box of the Moon. Amira can only watch in horror as Hamza grabs the defunct box and it springs to life, setting off a series of events that could shatter their world—literally.
 
Suddenly, day turns to night, everyone around Amira and Hamza falls under a sleep spell, and a chunk of the moon breaks off, hurtling toward them at lightning speed, as they come face-to-face with two otherworldly creatures: jinn.
 
The jinn reveal that the siblings have a role to play in an ancient prophecy. Together, they must journey to the mystical land of Qaf, battle a great evil, and end a civil war to prevent the moon—the stopper between realms—from breaking apart and unleashing terrifying jinn, devs, and ghuls onto earth. Or they might have to say goodbye to their parents and life as they know it, forever.…
 

About the Author


Samira Ahmed is the New York Times bestselling author of Love, Hate, & Other Filters and Internment. She was born in Bombay, India, and has lived in New York, Chicago, and Kauai, where she spent a year searching for the perfect mango. She currently resides in the Midwest. Find her online at samiraahmed.com and on Twitter and Instagram @sam_aye_ahm.

Praise For…


“Samira Ahmed’s Amira & Hamza: The War to Save the Worlds is a universe-hopping, time-traveling, mind-bending story that glows with enough energy to rival the moon. Brimming with science and magic alike, it’s also a bighearted and funny adventure, and readers will cheer Amira and Hamza every step of the way.”—Trenton Lee Stewart, bestselling author of The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Secret Keepers

"Ifrit and Jinn and Peris, oh my! This rollicking adventure weaves together ancient Islamic stories, modern day U.S. pop culture, sibling squabbles and death-defying feats. Amira and Hamza are my Chosen Ones!" —Sayantani DasGupta, New York Times-bestselling author of the Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond series

Amira and Hamza: The War to Save the Worlds is a hilarious and heartwarming adventure starring everyone’s new favorite siblings. Samira weaves a tale that deftly connects three cultures—American, Indian, and pop culture.”  —bestselling author Kwame Mbalia

"Even readers who don’t believe in magic will find themselves wishing on a star."—Kirkus

Amid myriad twists and turns, Amira and Hamza emerge as smart, funny, likable protagonists with emotional ranges that render them believable even while everything around them is fantastical. —Booklist

"Ahmed (Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know) centers her fast-paced middle grade debut on a deeply engaging heroine."—Publishers Weekly

"Like any magical journey, this one is full of heart, humor, action, doubt, and the belief that even the most unexpected individuals can save the world."—School Library Journal

 "Fantasy-adventure fans will have a hard time putting down this fast-paced and engaging tale."Horn Book


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316540469
ISBN-10: 0316540463
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 21st, 2021
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Amira & Hamza

215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.