Baby Builders (Hardcover)

Baby Builders Cover Image
By Elissa Haden Guest, Hiroe Nakata (Illustrator)
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Caution: Babies at Work! These babies are busy building a wonderful playhouse in this bustling picture book for fans of Mighty, Mighty Construction Site.

Wearing their hard hats, safety goggles, and work boots, a team of toddlers are busy building away. Using excavators, shovels, and bulldozers, they are hard at work making their perfect playhouse blueprint come to life. Jaunty rhyme perfectly complements the playful and bouncing illustrations in this kid pleaser.

About the Author


Elissa Haden Guest is the award-winning author of numerous children’s books, including Bella’s Rules and the Iris and Walter series. Elissa’s honors include a PEN Center USA West Literary Award, a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year, and an ALA Notable Book. She has an MFA in children’s literature from Hollins University. She teaches writing and lives with her family in San Francisco, California.

Hiroe Nakata has illustrated many books for children with her cheerful and delightful watercolors. For Snow Happy!, she researched her own neighborhood's parks, trees, and wildlife during snowfalls, and the local children in colorful knits were inspiring to her. She is also the author of Not That Tutu! Hiroe lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Praise For…


"A picture book custom-built for construction-site-obsessed tots . . . Guest's rhyming text imagines a workforce of toddlers heading out to work at a construction site. Nakata's cherubic, pudgy, diverse cast of characters is clearly up for the job . . . A dream-come-true building book for babes in arms." —Kirkus 
Product Details
ISBN: 9780525552703
ISBN-10: 0525552707
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: May 19th, 2020
Pages: 32

215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

 

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.