The Magical Yet (Hardcover)

The Magical Yet Cover Image
By Angela DiTerlizzi, Lorena Alvarez (Illustrator), Lorena Alvarez (Cover design or artwork by)
$17.99
Backordered

Description


A rollicking, rhyming, and inspirational picture book perfect for fans of Oh, the Places You'll Go! and every child who is frustrated by what they can't do . . . YET!

Each of us, from the day we're born, is accompanied by a special companion--the Yet. Can't tie your shoes? Yet! Can't ride a bike? Yet! Can't play the bassoon? Don't worry, Yet is there to help you out.

The Magical Yet is the perfect tool for parents and educators to turn a negative into a positive when helping children cope with the inevitable difficult learning moments we all face. Whether a child or an adult, this encouraging and uplifting book reminds us that we all have things we haven't learned...yet!

About the Author


Angela Diterlizzi never forgets her Magical Yet, especially when she wrote more than ten drafts to this book just right. She's written other books, too, including Just Add Glitter, Some Bugs, Some Pets, and Baby Love. She lives with her husband, best-selling author-illustrator Tony DiTerlizzi, and their daughter in Amherst, Massachusetts.

Lorena Alvarez was born and raised in Bogotá, Colombia, and studied graphic design at the Universidad Nacional de Colombia. She has illustrated for children's books (including the Carmen series by Anika Denise and Nightlights, a comic book that Lorena also wrote), independent publications, advertising, and fashion magazines. Since 2008, she has been part of La Procesión Puppet Club, an experimental puppetry group of illustrators and visual artists.

Praise For…


Praise for The Magical Yet:






p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"The artwork is powerful and detailed....A solid if message-driven conversation starter about the hard parts of learning."—Kirkus Reviews


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"With splashy artwork and catchy rhymes, the creators give families and educators a tool that spurs kids on to success."—Publishers Weekly


p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times}
span.s1 {font-kerning: none}



"The depictions of difficult situations, such as learning to ride a bike, learning to dance, or practicing painting, are sure to strike a chord with children struggling to pick up something new, and the positive outcomes brought on by practice and perseverance are sure to inspire readers to never give up. A lovely addition to picture-book collections."—Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9781368025621
ISBN-10: 1368025625
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 21st, 2020
Pages: 40

215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

 

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.