A Literary Tea Party: Blends and Treats for Alice, Bilbo, Dorothy, Jo, and Book Lovers Everywhere (Hardcover)

A Literary Tea Party: Blends and Treats for Alice, Bilbo, Dorothy, Jo, and Book Lovers Everywhere Cover Image
By Alison Walsh, Sara Letourneau (Introduction by)
$19.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


**Finalist in the 2019 Goodreads Choice Awards**

For fans of Jane Austen, Mark Twain, Agatha Christie, Robert Louis Stevenson, William Shakespeare, Charles Dickens, and more, a literary-inspired cookbook for voracious readers and tea lovers everywhere

Tea and books: the perfect pairing. There's nothing quite like sitting down to a good book on a lovely afternoon with a steaming cup of tea beside you, as you fall down the rabbit hole into the imaginative worlds of Alice in Wonderland, The Hobbit, and The Chronicles of Narnia.

Fire up your literary fancies and nibble your way through delicate sweets and savories with A Literary Tea Party, which brings food from classic books to life with a teatime twist. Featuring fifty-five perfectly portioned recipes for an afternoon getaway, including custom homemade tea blends and beverages, you will have everything you need to plan an elaborate tea party. Cook up and enjoy:
  • Turkish Delight while sipping on the White Witch’s Hot Chocolate from The Chronicles of Narnia
  • Drink Me Tea with the Queen of Hearts’s Painted Rose Cupcakes from Alice in Wonderland
  • Eeyore’s “Hipy Bthuthday” Cake with Hundred Acre Hot Chocolate from Winnie the Pooh
  • Hannah’s Sweet Potato Bacon Pastries and Jo’s Gingerbread from Little Women
  • Tom Sawyer’s Whitewashed Jelly Doughnuts from Tom Sawyer
  • And more!

Come relax with Sherlock Holmes, Long John Silver, Winnie-the Pooh, Bilbo Baggins, Ebeneezer Scrooge, and more. Accompanied with photographs and book quotes, these recipes, inspired by the great works of literature, will complement any good book for teatime reading and eating.

About the Author


Alison Walsh first began cooking as a way to stretch her post-college paycheck, and her love of cooking grew. In 2014, she combined her love of food and books into Alison’s Wonderland Recipes (WonderlandRecipes.com), a food blog dedicated to book-inspired recipes. She guest writes for Real Life at Home and her recipes have been featured on MuggleNet, the number one Harry Potter fan website. She lives in Des Plaines, Illinois.

Alison Walsh first began cooking as a way to stretch her post-college paycheck, and her love of cooking grew. In 2014, she combined her love of food and books into Alison’s Wonderland Recipes (WonderlandRecipes.com), a food blog dedicated to book-inspired recipes. She guest writes for Real Life at Home and her recipes have been featured on MuggleNet, the number one Harry Potter fan website. She lives in Des Plaines, Illinois.
Sara Letourneau is a speculative fiction writer for teens and adults. She is a poet, tea reviewer, music journalist, and columnist at DIY MFA and Writers Helping Writers. She lives in Cape Cod, Massachusetts.

Praise For…


**Finalist in the 2019 Goodreads Choice Awards**

"Alison sets the table with comfort and nostalgia and a side of insight into why food is important in our fiction. The recipes are perfect for teatime with friends or curled up with a good book, sneaking bites between turning the pages."
—Diane Ault, Fiction-Food Cafe
"I love books and I love to cook. This cookbook is a dream come true with all of its recipes based on so many of my favorite stories. I've made many of the recipes and I can attest that they are delicious! This cookbook has so many tips and tricks, so a novice cook can learn to take her skills to the next level and impress her geeky friends at her next literary gathering. The Big Apple Hand Pies are a must-make!"
—Victoria Grace Howell, staff writer at Area of Effect Magazine

“I finished reading it in a rush, compelled to read every single page. . . . If you’re looking for an amazing recipe book full of literary referrals, . . . this is the book for you.”
Books Daily News

A Literary Tea Party is a delight for both of the reader and the foodie. Picking up inspiration from classical literary works as diverse as Romeo and Juliet, White Fang, or the Wizard of Oz, it set up the table for a lengthy discussion about life, works, words, and, obviously, taste buds.”
Boiled Words

"An amazing, deliciously sweet book that will brighten the tea time of every book lover. . . . A must-have in any book lovers’ collection right between the classics and the cookbooks."
Book Traveller

“A cute and fun collection of mostly simple and familiar recipes. . . . The Queen of Hearts painted rose cupcakes offer a big impression with a simple technique, and many of the savories, while simple in execution, are fun.”
Food Book Feast

“Have you ever yearned to eat what the characters in your current book are eating? Or gotten hungry from the descriptions of food in books? . . . This was a lovely book to read and even better to cook from.”
Bibliomnivorous

“Thanks to this unique book, I can fulfil my literary foodie fantasies! . . . A Literary Tea Party is charming and well-thought out. . . . Perfect for the tea, food, and book lovers in your life.”
Rebecca Reviews

"I absolutely love the concept behind this book – a literary tea party. Reading the blurb of this book made me seriously consider throwing a themed tea party just so I could show off all these great recipes!"
Ally's Appraisals

“Reading and cooking from this book will evoke memories from books read in the past and inspire readers to not only pick up those books again, but to have a nice tea party at the same time.”
Bella Online

“The perfect gift for the special bookworm in your life, or something you should treat yourself to if you are a whimsy literature lover.”
Macarons and Paperbacks

"[This] lovely book will be a delightful companion for those who love children’s books and teatime . . . a fun way to get kids cooking."
A Magical Homeschool

"Alison sets the table with comfort and nostalgia and a side of insight into why food is important in our fiction. The recipes are perfect for teatime with friends or curled up with a good book, sneaking bites between turning the pages."
—Diane Ault, Fiction-Food Cafe
"I love books and I love to cook. This cookbook is a dream come true with all of its recipes based on so many of my favorite stories. I've made many of the recipes and I can attest that they are delicious! This cookbook has so many tips and tricks, so a novice cook can learn to take her skills to the next level and impress her geeky friends at her next literary gathering. The Big Apple Hand Pies are a must-make!"
—Victoria Grace Howell, staff writer at Area of Effect Magazine
“I finished reading it in a rush, compelled to read every single page. . . . If you’re looking for an amazing recipe book full of literary referrals, . . . this is the book for you.”
Books Daily News
A Literary Tea Party is a delight for both of the reader and the foodie. Picking up inspiration from classical literary works as diverse as Romeo and Juliet, White Fang, or the Wizard of Oz, it set up the table for a lengthy discussion about life, works, words, and, obviously, taste buds.”
Boiled Words
"An amazing, deliciously sweet book that will brighten the tea time of every book lover. . . . A must-have in any book lovers’ collection right between the classics and the cookbooks."
Book Traveller
“A cute and fun collection of mostly simple and familiar recipes. . . . The Queen of Hearts painted rose cupcakes offer a big impression with a simple technique, and many of the savories, while simple in execution, are fun.”
Food Book Feast
“Have you ever yearned to eat what the characters in your current book are eating? Or gotten hungry from the descriptions of food in books? . . . This was a lovely book to read and even better to cook from.”
Bibliomnivorous
“Thanks to this unique book, I can fulfil my literary foodie fantasies! . . . A Literary Tea Party is charming and well-thought out. . . . Perfect for the tea, food, and book lovers in your life.”
Rebecca Reviews
"I absolutely love the concept behind this book – a literary tea party. Reading the blurb of this book made me seriously consider throwing a themed tea party just so I could show off all these great recipes!"
Ally's Appraisals
“Reading and cooking from this book will evoke memories from books read in the past and inspire readers to not only pick up those books again, but to have a nice tea party at the same time.”
Bella Online
“The perfect gift for the special bookworm in your life, or something you should treat yourself to if you are a whimsy literature lover.”
Macarons and Paperbacks
"[This] lovely book will be a delightful companion for those who love children’s books and teatime . . . a fun way to get kids cooking."
A Magical Homeschool


Product Details
ISBN: 9781510729100
ISBN-10: 1510729100
Publisher: Skyhorse
Publication Date: June 5th, 2018
Pages: 160
Language: English

215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

 

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.