Mr. Brown's Bad Day (Hardcover)

Mr. Brown's Bad Day Cover Image
By Lou Peacock, Alison Friend (Illustrator)
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Mr. Brown is a very important tiger who works in a very important office all day long. His briefcase contains some very important things, so he keeps it by his side at all times. When Mr. Brown’s briefcase goes missing, his world is turned upside down. He must get his briefcase back! Mr. Brown goes on a wild chase all over town. Will he find it—and what could possibly be inside?

About the Author


Lou Peacock has worked in children’s publishing for nearly twenty years as both an editor and an author. Her picture books for Nosy Crow include Nuts!, Oliver Elephant, and Lionel and the Lion’s Share. She lives in London.

Alison Friend worked as an apprentice stonemason before she began painting funny animal pictures for greeting cards. She has since gone on to illustrate many picture books, including That Bear Can’t Babysit, Scrawny Cat, Bear’s Book, and What Color Is Caesar? She lives in England’s Lake District and enjoys walking her border collie, Blue, and swimming in the lakes when it’s warm.

Praise For…


Peacock tells the tale in easy, approachable language, with bits of delightful repetition and Mr. Brown in turn calling, shouting, bellowing, and gasping his pleas. Friend’s sophisticated cartoon illustrations are full of surprises, adding an entirely new level to the work...Laugh-out-loud fun and a lovely sweet ending.
—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

The mixed media illustrations create texture for all the sights and sounds of a park and fairground, while the simplified shapes and visible crayonlike shading bring a childlike touch to Mr. Brown’s world. For fans of Peter Brown’s Mr. Tiger Goes Wild and Remy Charlip’s classic Fortunately, this story will take readers on a romp to retrieve what’s been lost and remember what’s important.
—The Horn Book
Product Details
ISBN: 9781536214369
ISBN-10: 1536214361
Publisher: Nosy Crow
Publication Date: November 10th, 2020
Pages: 32
Language: English

215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

 

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.