Bedtime Bonnet (Hardcover)

Bedtime Bonnet Cover Image
By Nancy Redd, Nneka Myers (Illustrator)
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


This joyous and loving celebration of family is the first-ever picture book to highlight Black nighttime hair traditions--and is perfect for every little girl who knows what it's like to lose her bonnet just before bedtime.

In my family, when the sun goes down, our hair goes up!
My brother slips a durag over his locs.
Sis swirls her hair in a wrap around her head.
Daddy covers his black waves with a cap.
Mama gathers her corkscrew curls in a scarf.
I always wear a bonnet over my braids, but tonight I can't find it anywhere!

Bedtime Bonnet gives readers a heartwarming peek into quintessential Black nighttime hair traditions and celebrates the love between all the members of this close-knit, multi-generational family.

Perfect for readers of Hair Love and Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut!

About the Author


Nancy Redd is an award-winning on-air host, a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, a two-time Mom's Choice Award winner, an NAACP Image Award nominee for outstanding literary work, a New York Times columnist, and a GLAAD Media Award nominee for outstanding digital journalism. Called "the perfect combination of style and substance" by Essence magazine, Nancy holds an honors degree in women's studies from Harvard University. Bedtime Bonnet was inspired by the lack of resources Nancy faced when she introduced a bonnet to her daughter's nighttime routine.

Nneka Myers lives in Toronto and illustrates for publishers and the animation industry. Although drawing is her favorite, she can often be found looking for inspiration in vintage fashion, drinking tea with friends, or playing video games.

Praise For…


“Bedtime Bonnet allows Black children to see their reality reflected in their entertainment.” —Essence

"Redd’s family represents a range of varying hair textures and care routines, while Myers’s vibrant illustrations bring the close-knit crew and their daily rituals to affectionate life."—Publishers Weekly 

"A celebration of black hair, family, and culture.... This brightly hued picture book with loads of charm will entertain and empower readers." —Kirkus Reviews

"A wonderful window and mirror that lends itself well to lessons on self-concept, bedtime routines, and learning about differences.” —School Library Journal 
Product Details
ISBN: 9781984895240
ISBN-10: 1984895249
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 7th, 2020
Pages: 40

215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

 

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.