The Flowering Hawthorn (Hardcover)

The Flowering Hawthorn By Hugh Ross Williamson, Matt Livermore (Illustrator) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


This is a new edition of Hugh Ross Williamson's classic work, The Flowering Hawthorn.

This is a delightful, exquisitely decorated, essay-a blending of legend and history-on the famous Thorn of Glastonbury which has flowered each Christmas and from which, wrote Chesterton, grew the whole story of Britain. With consummate artistry Hugh Ross Williamson explores the legends which involve Joseph of Arimathea, including the possibility that Jesus Christ may have come to England with Joseph. The great event of Joseph's sojourn at Glastonbury was the building of the church...the first Christian church to be built in Britain. From the earliest days Glastonbury was to be pre-eminent as a Christian centre. To Glastonbury, as Avalon, came King Arthur; then King Alfred; and then Dunstan, perhaps the only other man in the pre-conquest period who approaches Arthur and Alfred in greatness. And the fame of the Abbey spread throughout the world. Pillage and desecration were to follow...and eventual restoration in this century.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781990685156
ISBN-10: 1990685153
Publisher: Arouca Press
Publication Date: May 5th, 2022
Pages: 102
Language: English


Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.