Mythopoeic Awards

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the previous three years are eligible, including finalists for previous years.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

 

For more information and a complete list of winners check out the Mythopoeic Society.

Redemption in Indigo By Karen Lord Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781931520669
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Small Beer Press - August 1st, 2010

2011 Adult Winner


The Thief (Queen's Thief #1) By Megan Whalen Turner Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780060824976
Availability: Backordered
Published: Greenwillow Books - December 27th, 2005

2011 Children's Winner


Where the Mountain Meets the Moon By Grace Lin Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780316038638
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 12th, 2011

2010 Children's Winner


Flesh and Spirit (The Lighthouse Duet) By Carol Berg Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780451461568
Availability: Special Order
Published: Ace - January 2nd, 2008

2009 Adult Winner


Graceling (Graceling Realm #1) By Kristin Cashore Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780547258300
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - September 7th, 2009

2009 Children's Winner


The Orphan's Tales: In the Night Garden By Catherynne Valente Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780553384031
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Spectra - October 31st, 2006

2008 Adult Winner - Orpahn's Tales as a series, including the second book In the Cities of Coin and Spice


Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone By J. K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré (Illustrator) Cover Image
By J. K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780590353427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - October 1st, 1999

2008 Children's Winner - For the whole series


215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

 

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.