Red Hen Press

Red Hen Press is committed to publishing work of literary excellence, supporting diversity, and promoting literacy in our local schools. We seek a community of readers and writers who are actively engaged in the essential human practice known as literature.
Wisteria Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781597090599
Availability: Special Order
Published: Red Hen Press - January 1st, 2006

In this collection Dawes, one of our foremost poets, mines the town of Sumter, SC. He writes lyric, passionate poems of survival and transcendence. Poems of spirit, “twilight,” and vigor. Here, one is reminded of old blues songs or narrative epics. There is nothing that Dawes can’t do, and once again he’s shown us just how lucky we are to have him writing.


Suck on the Marrow Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781597094689
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - January 15th, 2010

Dungy’s collection of poems is a historical narrative set in 19th century Virginia and Philadelphia. Her poems question the way we have written history and provide new insight into the lives that were lived then. She writes a tight, passionate poem, that forces introspection upon the reader. This is illuminating work. In short, everything we want from a book.


There Are No Names for Red Cover Image
By CHRIS ABANI, PERCIVAL EVERETT (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781597094573
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - April 1st, 2010

Chris Abani’s utterly fearless poetry and fiction has made devout fans of us. He is political without being preachy, always concerned with emotional impact and technical delivery. The fluidity with which Everett’s paintings move with Abani’s tender, tough, expansive poems is remarkable. This is a collection to savor again and again.


Ludlow (2nd edition) Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781597094726
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Red Hen Press - April 1st, 2010

In light of the Wisconsin labor uprising, Mason’s Ludlow is nearly prophetic. A novel in verse about the largest labor uprising in American history and its subsequent crushing by the National Guard, Mason’s novel is a page turner. The verse accentuates the sense of history and character that fills the novel, leaving his characters to be nothing short of remarkable. This is the power of Steinbeck combined with Dante’s tight, harrowing verse. Unforgettable.


Working Backwards from the Worst Moment of My Life Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781597091657
Availability: Special Order
Published: Red Hen Press - October 1st, 2010

Immediately one is reminded of Denis Johnson in these stories. Roberge has an uncanny ability to propel a story on, grabbing the reader by the collar, and then, almost miraculously, a sentence comes in that floors you. These are stories that make you wonder, that make you think and feel. Wonderfully wrought characters, combined with tight, beautiful writing, this is a story collection that is not to be missed.


New Hope for the Dead: Uncollected William Matthews Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781597091626
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Red Hen Press - October 1st, 2010

Matthews was one of America's finest poets for over thirty years. His sense of timing, delivery, wit combined with an impeccable lyricism marked his poems as wondrous things. He never fails to inspire, entertain, enlighten, challenge and make you think. A collection that should be on every shelf.


The Luckless Age Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781597094948
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - February 1st, 2011

What is most amazing about Kistulentz’ collection of poems is that no matter how tough or raw he digs into emotion, he always has hope. Too many poets now write self-abased, angry, narcissistic poetry devoid of light. Kistulentz’ work slaps this trend in the face and leaves the reader wanting more. A remarkable book.


House Arrest Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781597094993
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Red Hen Press - February 1st, 2011

A stunning first novel. Meeropol challenges our standard notions of right and wrong, of good and evil and perhaps, our guilt in all. Great art is made by making the waters of morality murky, by making us question ourselves—to paraphrase E.M. Williamson. Here, Meeropol not only makes us question ourselves, but the world around us and our relation to it. Not to be missed.


Give Over, Graymalkin Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781597094931
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - February 1st, 2011

In his 8th collection of poems, Brewer expands greatly on the themes and wonders of his other work. Here he meditates on loss, betrayal, liberation, recovery and human value. Every single poem bears the weight of intense, careful thought, beautifully rendered. Brewer is a poet who has long been stunning us. This collection ups the ante.


Swimming Swimmers Swimming Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781597094788
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - April 1st, 2011

There's nothing Everett can't do. Whether he is writing some of our finest fiction (both long or short), painting or writing poetry, Everett is consistently something to behold. His poems are sparse, tight and forceful. There's much to admire here, there's many reasons in "Swimming" to see why Everett makes so many poets jealous. His best collection yet.


Ship of Fool Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781597094467
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - February 1st, 2011

Ken Kesey once compared the clown, the fool, to a warrior. It took courage to laugh in the face of so much wrong, he thought. Here, Trowbridge builds his poems around the fool archetype, showing us how we are all a bit of the warrior, the lover, the tumbling fool. By tackling all the manifestation of the fool, he shows us ourselves. A gorgeous book, tender and insightful.


DOG WOMAN Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781888996821
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Red Hen Press - September 1st, 2004

Abani tackles power and powerlessness here. He wrestles with his mortality and the infinitude of love. There is a wonderful sense of empathy here, an empathy that has made his fiction absolute standout work. Abani is one of the major writers of our time and Dog Woman might just help to secure him immortality.


Sixty Sonnets Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781597093613
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Red Hen Press - February 15th, 2009

Gnawed Bones Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781597091565
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Red Hen Press - April 15th, 2010

It is a book like this that reminds us why we read poetry. It is also a reminder of what a great press can do. Shumaker's work makes you shake your head in amazement: here is everything good about poetry, writing and thinking packed into a tight collection of poems. Not to be missed.


Air Kissing on Mars Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781597091664
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Red Hen Press - October 1st, 2010

The Alphabet Conspiracy Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780980040739
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - February 1st, 2011

Where many poets experiment with language and say nothing, Reese’s collection of poems uses language and definition to expand our sense of self. She writes poems that dredge deep beneath the surface of meaning; wonderful, tightly wrought poems whose subjects and characters are as diverse as our own lives. Accessible and challenging, beautiful and lyric, Reese’s book is a marvel.


The Hundred Fathom Curve Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781597094979
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Red Hen Press - February 1st, 2011

A collected and new set of poems from a poet that has long been holding his own in the upper echelons of letters. Fans of Mary Oliver, Brian Turner and Philip Levine will find much to like here. Thoughtful, passionate work from one of our best. A joy to read again and again.


New Book by local National Book Award Winner, James McBride

"From James McBride, author of the National Book Award-winning The Good Lord Bird, comes a wise and witty novel about what happens to the witnesses of a shooting. In September 1969, a fumbling, cranky old church deacon known as Sportcoat shuffles into the courtyard of the Cause Houses housing project in south Brooklyn, pulls a .45 from his pocket, and in front of everybody shoots the project's drug dealer at point-blank range. McBride brings to vivid life the people affected by the shooting: the victim, the African-American and Latinx residents who witnessed it, the white neighbors, the local cops assigned to investigate, the members of the Five Ends Baptist Church where Sportcoat was deacon, the neighborhood's Italian mobsters, and Sportcoat himself. 

New Cookbook By Our Friends at Canal House

Learn to cook well with this Joy of Cooking for the Instagram generation from James Beard Award-winning cookbook studio Canal House, "the 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue of the food world" (Bon Appetit), with 300 simple recipes to rely on for the rest of your life. 
Canal House's Melissa Hamilton and Christopher Hirsheimer are home cooks writing about home cooking for other home cooks. From a lifetime of making dinner every single night, they've edited their experience down to the essentials: 300 simple and genius recipes that reveal the building blocks of all good cooking, and are guaranteed to make you a better cook.

215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

 

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.