Writer's Tribe Books

Stephen King once wrote that we should “consider what the bottom shelf does to creative writers.” When creating Writers Tribe Review, we thought, Sure, we could write reviews about books that have made The New York Times Bestsellers List…but what would that do to expand the writing community? We are more interested in writing about authors, books, and stories published by small indie presses and literary magazines where writers of every genre and experience collaborate to create a unique body of work.
The 90-Day Rewrite Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780983141211
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Writers Tribe Books - August 14th, 2012

Watt is one of the best writing instructors out there. He wrote the go-to book on novel writing and here has written another gem on revision. Insightful, smart, easy to approach, and supremely practical, this book makes tackling revising your writing more manageable and easier. Not to be missed.


Raymond Carver Will Not Raise Our Children Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781937746032
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Writers Tribe Books - October 1st, 2012

In the tradition of John Fante and Jim Thompson's "Now and on Earth," Newman's novel centers on the struggles of a writer trying to make it. Funny as it is honest, Newman nails it. The book shines with great prose, superb characters and an honesty all too often lacking from too much of today's fiction.


215-862-2452

farleysbookshop@netscape.net

 

Situated on the main street of the historic Delaware Riverfront town of New Hope, Pennsylvania, Farley’s Bookshop and its knowledgeable, experienced staff have endeavored to satisfy the literary tastes of the area inhabitants for over fifty years. Whether you are Bucks County born-and-bred or just stopping by to enjoy the crisp river air and delightful scenery, you will be pleasantly surprised to find the largest and most diverse collection of books-in-print in Bucks County. Farley’s may have competition, but it has few peers. We encourage you to browse our website, but please remember that getting acquainted with our online persona is no substitute for exploring the narrow passageways and teeming shelves of our storefront and discovering that perfect book nestled amongst so many others.

 

New Hope for American Art

                                               New Hope for American Art is the most comprehensive book ever published on artists from, and surrounding, the New Hope Art Colony (also known as the Pennsylvania Impressionists). This book, with its 612 pages and over 1,000 color plates of artwork include biographies of 165 individual Pennsylvania Impressionists and New Hope Modernists as well as artists from the Philadelphia Ten, a pioneering group of women all educated at Philadelphia art schools. 

In this book, you'll find biographies and artwork from such artists as:

  • Daniel Garber
  • Edward Redfield
  • George Sotter
  • Arthur Meltzer
  • Robert Spencer
  • William Langson Lathrop
  • Kenneth Nunamaker
  • John Folinsbee
  • Henry Snell
  • William F. Taylor
  • Fern Coppedge
  • M. Elizabeth Price
  • Clarence Johnson
  • S. George Phillips
  • Rae Sloan Bredin
  • Walter Baum
  • Walter Schofield
  • Morgan Colt
  • Charles Rosen
  • Joseph Meierhans
  • Charles F. Ramsey
  • Louis Stone
  • Charles Evans
  • Josef Zenk

New Hope for American Art was authored, designed and published by James M. Alterman, an expert in the field of Pennsylvania Impressionist and Modernist painting. A longtime collector and owner of two fine art galleries, Alterman wanted to create a user-friendly book intended not only to educate collectors and enthusiasts about this art but to help train one's eye. The book offers valuable tips on how to avoid common mistakes often experienced by new collectors drawn from the author's personal experiences as a collector and fine art dealer.